Finding My True Value- (With Video)

Recently I have been very lazy. Since I am currently out of work I’ve been focusing on school. I was studying to become a journalist and realized to take my school path a little further and major in meteorology or climatology. Now that I am working towards that, I’ve been having a hard time trying to get out of my lazy/ bored rut.

I became a Lyft driver where I use my personal car to drive people to various locations and I get paid, but it is not as fulfilling as I thought it would be. I know that I really enjoy writing, but I have not been doing any writing at all what so ever. It saddens me because it makes me question whether or not I really enjoy writing or do I just tell myself that because I enjoy the look on people faces when you tell them you do something you are “passionate” about.

In the mean time of working towards my degree, I still feel like something is missing. I watched a youtube video (check it out below) that explains how to stop being lazy, and the host asked the following question which I couldn’t answer: What are your values in life?

I hear people say this, but I really didn’t know what my values were. I began to think about it and I came up with lots of material items rather than idealistic values. I couldn’t continue the video because I saw why I always came to a dead end in my life, or felt that I was doing a lot but not having any results at the end.

I had to Google what values were, so I can figure out what I should care about and let go. I learned that you can have core values in your work environment, relationships with family and friends, and personal values. From the list I came to a conclusion which follows:

My Personal Values:

  1. Having an understanding relationship with God
  2. Understanding and appreciating how important family can be
  3. Honesty is important and trust must be earned
  4. Maintaining a work/life balance
  5. Good Health

My Relationship Values ( which I have been living by):

  1. Honesty
  2. Trust
  3. Loyalty
  4. Motivating
  5. Respectful
  6. Optimistic
  7. Good Health

Work environment:

  1. Creative
  2. Inspiring
  3. Efficient
  4. Nurturing
  5. Consistent
  6. Mentally healthy

Once I was able to pinpoint my values I had to shift my life to act towards them, so I can live a fulfilling life. It began to get hard because I had to remember not everyone shared the same values as I did. I didn’t let that deter my path, instead I accepted the times when I had to lose something that was hurting or not flowing with my purpos, so the things that would keep me afloat on a positive wave were planted in my foundation of life.

Leave a Reply

