24 Hours Until Publication (First Chapter Sample)

Becoming a self-publish author isn’t as easy as I thought it was.

I now understand why publishing companies charge so much for their services.

The work is tedious, more tedious than writing the perfect manuscript. Then there is the wait. I’m happy now that my soon to be published book ” With Somebody Else” is formatted correctly, cover is immaculate. ( I can do better, but my heart is telling me to stick with the design I created because it is one of a kind), and best of all I only have 24 hours left to provide the link of purchase.

Image

Here’s a sample of the first chapter enjoy:

“Baby, what happened to you?” Tanek asked as he walked into the living room carrying a tray of tea. I was sitting on the couch with a pen and journal lying on my lap watching the rain hit the window. I turned and gave him a blank stare then looked back out towards the window.

Snapping out of my daze I patted the seat beside me. He placed the tray on the wooden oak coffee table and sat beside me. I reached over to grab my cup of tea and took a sip. I placed my cup back down and kissed him.

“ Where do I begin? It was summer 2005. I just finished my freshman year of high school, and it was two weeks before summer school when my life changed. My dad visited me late one Friday night and handed me 5,000 dollars. He told me to hold it for him. I went back into my house and told my best friend that was waiting by the door to follow me into my room. I locked the door behind us and poured the money onto the bed. Although we were the only two in the house I whispered the amount to her and we both began to scream and jump on the bed throwing the money in the air like the actors in old films. We were fresh out of our first year of high school what can I say. We decided not to tell my mom, but we decided to tell my stepsister. I showed her the money and she told us we should put it in a bear and don’t tell anybody it was in there. I believed it was a good idea and proceeded. The next day we went out to the beach, got our nails done, and shopped. That following Monday summer school began…”

LADIDADADI! Tanek’s cellphone began to ring in the far distant. I encouraged him to answer it since it was my Queue to take a break from reminiscing about the past.  A little cold from his departure I went to the linen cabinet to grab a throw. On the way back to the couch I glanced at my self in the mirror and smiled at my beauty. I waited for Tanek cuddled up in the throw and looking out the window while drinking my cup of tea on the sofa.

“Begin,” he demanded.

“ You’re so demanding tonight. Sheesh, but yes your majesty,” I teased. Before I could begin he kissed me gently.

“ Okay,” I said while pushing him away.

“ Do you want me to finish or not?”

Leave a Reply

